featherxquill: (Petunia Harry Eqqus)
[personal profile] featherxquill
i. I received an email today from the fellow Rita-fan who is translating To Eart, Like Ashes into Russian (*\o/*). The translation is part of an anonymous contest of some kind, and she is on 'team Rita' (I want to be on that team, too!). Anyway, she gave me a link to a rather nifty video that's also been made for the contest.

There are subtitles in the video to make the plot clearer, but they're in Russian. Basically, the idea is that Rita finds out about Dumbledore's hidden memories and decides to write a book.



I know at least one person on my flist will enjoy the musical accompaniment, too ;).

ii. I love this article. Honestly, I don't know enough about British politics (despite taking a media class when I was there that was pretty much concerned with nothing else - it confused the hell out of me and I think I only passed it because I'm exceptionally good at bullshitting), and it doesn't effect me enough for me to really care which party JKR donated money to, but I have to say I was rather surprised to see she'd done so at all. As the article says, doing that opens her up for criticism, and I'm kind of glad. I'm sick of seeing her painted as this God-like figure that no one is allowed to challenge.

iii. On a similar note, in your face, WB. Seriously, the very idea of banning a film because its name sounds a bit like 'Harry Potter' is fucking stupid. I'm glad they lost, and I'm also glad that this lawsuit has given the film so much free publicity! If it comes out here, I'd love to see it because it sounds like a hoot.

iv. Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today!

Date: 2008-09-23 09:53 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] regasssa.livejournal.com
The comments on there though... all from people who are not amused at that criticism, and I have, since starting in HP fandom, watched JKR idolising taken too far. You can't say anything against her, as that article proves, or you get attacked.

Anyway, I thoroughly agree that the Christmas documentary made me uncomfortable. Have you seen it? The bit with the crying is terrible, but the bit where she's telling the camera how she's careful never to lend money to her friends is just as bad. Sorry -- I forgot that you had half a billion pounds.

You know how after Anne Rice got rich she fucked her fans over? Clearly Harry Potter fans are bending over in preparation. I'm around if you want to chat about it, anywho.

Profile

featherxquill: (Default)
featherxquill

April 2019

S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 06:31 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios