featherxquill: (Default)
[personal profile] featherxquill
I just saw Wolverine. It was rather awesome - I do love the X-men films - and fit in quite nicely as a prequel. Like, actually fit without messing with the plot of the the later films. It was very splodey and intriguingly twisty with that political/human rights edge that the X-men series has, and I really liked it.

I was, however, kind of disappointed by the lack of women. One thing I love about the X-men series, aside from Xavier and Magneto's UST, is how much the female characters kick ass. Storm, Jean, Rogue, Mystique - they're all just as awesome as their male counterparts. In this one, though, there's only one significant female character, and her purpose as a plot device for the male character is fairly obvious from the outset.

It got me to thinking when I got home that yeah, there are some awesome female characters in X-men, but they're all young, and very sexualised. Which isn't news, I know, but I was thinking how freaking awesome it would be to see a film about middle-aged female superheroes. Who kick some serious arse. You know, I mean, what happens to all the female superheroes when they reach forty? They don't just die. There's a movie about Xavier's school for gifted youngsters, there should be a movie about, I don't know, Wonder Woman's Home for Women With Superpowers Who Have Passed the Age of Forty, where they all live now because they don't get to do anything in superhero cliques anymore, so they just like live there and turn the tv on by thinking about it and drink lots of wine and write articles for magazines and blog about politics and bake cookies and, you know, pretty much everything normal women do, except they have this special BOND because they all have superpowers. And then all the young cliques of musclebound and leather-bustiered superheroes fuck everything up and it is up to the Over Forty Women With Superpowers to save the world and they DO, they get up and they put their costumes on, or just their jeans even because of course some of them won't want to wear skin tight lycra anymore, and they go out and KICK ARSE and TAKE NAMES and SAVE THE DAY.

That would be awesome y/y? Who wants to help me write it?

Date: 2009-05-30 04:36 pm (UTC)
ext_37112: (Default)
From: [identity profile] la-fono.livejournal.com
Utterly awesome. If you write it, I'll draw for it.

Date: 2009-05-30 05:21 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] missfoxie.livejournal.com
I would SO watch that film.

Date: 2009-05-30 05:57 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] velmaneuwirth.livejournal.com
I'll direct, be in it, and/or maybe help you write it. ;-)

Date: 2009-05-31 01:39 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] life-on-stage.livejournal.com
*joins* MEMEMEMEMEMEMEMMEMEMEE I wanna join!

And yeah, Wolvie tends to NOT have women stick around really. I mean, *puts on comic geek glasses* he has his wives Mariko and Viper. Mariko I think is dead and Viper, she's a baddie. Major baddie. Type of major baddie who works with the Red Skull, tortures Skully (which he likes), and then gets into the hot tub to sex him. Oh, and for fun, she brainwashed a couple of superheroes and told them to go kick wolvies ass, plus she also poisoned wolvie at one point. He got better.

Yuriko, aka Lady Deathstrike, is his top female villain, well one of them. But she's dead now, so that wipes her out, unless them have her in the second wolvie movie that takes place in Japan, make it an origin thing for her, but I think they have her as a mutie in this one, so FAIL number two.

Silver Fox is dead (and so is Jean, but we can wait, lol). There's Tyger Tyger, but she's so damn aloof and only comes around when wolvie reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeally needs her (i.e. breaks him out of jail and dances with him on ocassion while killing ninjas, I kid you not. He flings her up and "Snikts" them before catching her).

Mystique. Shit, she mentally and physically fucks him so much, I'm surprised she hasn't had his kid (she's had sabretooth's instead). Though it would be cool to see her somehow double-team him with Spiral (six armed swordswoman who also knows magic and is just shy of crazy, depending on her mood).

Jubilee, she's too young and ain't even in this series, unless they want to really fuck things up and put her in Japan (she lives in Hawaii). They won't touch Kitty Pryde either.

Itsu. Oh Jesus, please let them stay away from Itsu and therefore stay away from his newly added bastard son of his who should be killed with fire.

Most likely the next movie will have the Honorable Clan Yashida (bringing along the uber cool Silver Samurai and Mariko) though it would be cool to see Ogun, if they do the dead guy right.

*gets back on subject* yes, superwomen over 40, I agree.

Date: 2009-05-31 01:16 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] acoustics1220.livejournal.com
*cheers* I LIKE IT!

Date: 2009-05-31 04:37 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] magic-at-mungos.livejournal.com
That would be amazing.

Date: 2009-06-01 12:40 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] countess-rezia.livejournal.com
Please, please write this. And then y'know, cast Ms Richardson in the film of it :)

Tis a great idea.

Date: 2009-06-03 02:09 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] iulia_linnea.livejournal.com
Nifty idea!

Profile

featherxquill: (Default)
featherxquill

April 2019

S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 07:12 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios